

Methodist College Belfast

PRIZE DISTRIBUTION

Thursday 21st October 2021

PRIZE LIST 2021

Description of Prizes

Special Merit Prize

This is the highest award for academic achievement in Form Four and Form Five. It is awarded to the pupils who have attained the highest standard across all the subjects they take. Please note, this year, no prizes have been allocated to Form Four, due to the educational disruption of Covid-19, to internal and public examinations.

Subject Prizes

These prizes are awarded to pupils, after the award of Special Merit, who have gained the highest marks in each subject. The number of prizes awarded is related to the number of pupils doing the relevant subject.

Form Prizes

These prizes are normally awarded to the pupils who have not won a subject prize but who have made significant progress in their attainment over the school year. These prizes have not been awarded this year, due to the educational disruption of Covid-19.

PRIZE LIST 2021

FORM FIVE

SPECIAL MERIT PRIZES

Sofia Bell Lewis Keys Stephen Service Noah Wu

Aayush Sunil Bhari Connie McMaster Maurya Shukla Johnathon Zhang Patrick Cosgrove Clodagh Nangle Yasmin Sidhu

Hannah Gheel Sorina Paun Anastasia Trainor
Carmen Gray Michael Ross Callum Woods

SUBJECT PRIZES

Laura Agnew Geography, Religious Education
Amelia Allen English Language, English Literature

David Armstrong Biology, Further Mathematics

Megan Bell Chemistry

Murray Birnie Religious Education

Claudia Cho Biology

Akarsh Choudhary Economics, Physics, Mathematics, Further Mathematics

Caitlin Coulter Technology Sophie Crawley Spanish

Jessica Davison Moving Image Arts
Jack Dunn Learning for Life & Work

Tali Evans Business Studies

Hannah Fitzpatrick Drama, English Language Scout Fitzsimons Religious Education Sophie Forde Physical Education

James Goldrick Technology

Sofia Gray English Language, History, Political Studies, Spanish

Mosab Hamal German

Olivia Herity Digital Technology (Multimedia), French

Emma Honeyford English Literature
Jiwon Hong Art & Design
Ryan Joseph Biology, Chemistry
Hope Kennedy Religious Education

Ishika Kinney English Language, English Literature

Tory Kirkpatrick Biology

Anna Logan English Language
Daniel Lynch Chemistry, Geography
Adam Madill Further Mathematics

Brandon McEvoy History

Kirsten Millar Religious Education Evie Mills Latin, Drama, Music Freddie Moore Classical Civilisation

Benjamin Neill Mathematics Molly O'Neill Biology, Russian

Jessica Palmer French, Geography, History, Food & Nutrition

Anna Pim Business Studies Raila Punzalan Mathematics

Maeve Quah

Gughan Ramakrishnan

Mia Robb

English Literature

Ronce Ruiz Art & Design
Nicolas Sanchez Villena Physics
Edward Storrs German
Daniel Stott Geology

Orlin Todorov Spanish

Benjamin Tremblay Latin, Chemistry, Physics

Lauren Tully Business Studies

Zainab Waly French

William Zhang Digital Technology (Programming), Mathematics, Further Mathematics

LOWER SIXTH

SUBJECT PRIZES

Taran Adams Chemistry
Hannah Alderdice Biology
Louisa Alexander-Law Drama

Reuben Austin Biology, Business Studies

Sophie Bleakley Media Studies

Shriya Bommaraveni Mathematics, Physics

Anna Caldwell Latin

Jathin Chinthalapudi Technology Dasha Crozier Biology

Meg De Jesus Environmental Technology

Denna Detty Psychology Eibhlin Eddy Psychology

Stephanie Ekwueme Health & Social Care

Grace Ferguson Mathematics Lucy Grant Technology

Kathleen Holland History, Political Studies Patrick Humphreys History, Mathematics

Ryan Lindsay Economics
Brian McCollum Mathematics

Ita McConvilleEnglish Literature, MusicRachel McCrumChemistry, French, Geography

Hugh McDowell Geography, German

Gemini McKee English Literature, Russian

Suke McKegney Spanish

Connie McMurray Nutrition & Food Science Nina Moore Classical Civilisation

Rebecca Morris History
Enas Mousa Psychology
Sasha Porter Art & Design

Harry Pratt Biology, Chemistry, Physics

Erin Reid Business Studies Olivia Ryan Political Studies

Yifei Shen Physics

Summar Smylie History, Moving Image Arts Martha Stewart Geography, Religious Education

Sherry Wang Biology, Chemistry, Further Mathematics

Callum White Economics

UPPER SIXTH

SPECIAL MERIT PRIZES

The Alderman Carlisle Prize
This prize is awarded to the student
with the highest attainment at A Level

Due to the allocation of Centre Determined Grades in 2021, it has not been possible to award this prize.

SUBJECT PRIZES

ART & DESIGN

Mrs Shannon Prize Annie Meharg

BIOLOGY

Philip Johnston Prizes Sarah Cosgrove

John Gibbons Eli Holohan Jess Kernohan Hector King

BUSINESS STUDIES

College Prizes Ellie Adgey

Faye Fitzpatrick Rebecca Higham

CHEMISTRY

Philip Johnston Prizes Katherine Harrison

Hector King Aoife Quah Peter Terek

CLASSICS

College Prize for Classical Civilisation Sacha Millar

COMPUTING

College Prize for Computing Ryan Yan College Prize for ICT John Xu

DRAMA

College Prize Jessica Milligan

ECONOMICS

John Hogg Memorial Prizes Luke Patterson

Kam Sidhu

ENGLISH

Falconer Centenary Prize Olivia Knox Margaret Grant Cormack Prize Annie Meharg

ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNOLOGY

College Prize Cameron Faloon

GEOGRAPHY

Joan Graham Prize Natasha McKeown Stewart McCartney Memorial Prize Freya Watson

GEOLOGY

College Prize Anisa Price

GOVERNMENT & POLITICS

College Prizes Erin Bowman

HEALTH & SOCIAL CARE

College Prizes Paulena Birnie

HISTORY

Jonathan Halley Memorial Prize Cameron Faloon
AJ Tulip Prize Lucy Loughridge
Dr Hugh Turtle Michael O'Reilly

MATHEMATICS

JE Campbell Prize

FJ Cleaver Prize

College Prize

RE Geale Prizes for Further Mathematics Finn Hofman

Oliver McGale James McBreen Wan Min Xue Matt Smyth

MODERN LANGUAGES

Alice Ritchie Prizes

For French Megan Kavanagh
For German Hannah Le Seelleur
For Russian Rachel Green
For Spanish Hector King

MOVING IMAGE ARTS

College Prize Sophie Williams

MUSIC

SW Henderson Prize Finn Hofman

NUTRITION AND FOOD SCIENCE

The Joan Balmer Prize Nadia Whitten

PHYSICAL EDUCATION

College Prize Alex Kelly

PHYSICS

Sir Robert Evans Prize Junyu Meng College Prize Matt Smyth

PSYCHOLOGY

College Prizes Rasif Chowdhury

Ben Heatherley

RELIGIOUS EDUCATION

Wallace Memorial Prize Erin Bowman

TECHNOLOGY

College Prize for Technology Lauren Cox

SPECIAL PRIZES

The Ernest Walton Physics Prize Finn Hofman
The Todd Prize for Mathematics Callum Tougher

The Ryan Prizes for Art & Design

At A LevelSophie WilliamsAt GCSECarrie Bell

The Patrick McConkey Prize for History and Politics Shea Ferguson

AWARDS & PRIZES FOR EXTRA-CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES

DRAMA

Dr Hugh Turtle Drama Prizes Leo Fitzsymons

Joshua Lunn Charley McGrory Bethany Murray Sophie Rourke Summar Smylie Sasha Trainor

MUSIC

Lindsay Music Prizes Ushnik Banerjee

Lucia Corrigan Ben Heatherley Luc Tedford

SPORT

C S Neil Award for *Athletics* Katie Monteith

for *Cricket* Matthew Humphreys for *Rowing* Giselle Coulter

Rosaleen Kyle Squash Award Yuv Pahuja

Robert Gillen Award for Cricket Matthew Humphreys

SPECIAL AWARDS

The Hazel Ker Vocal Award

The Neil Robinson Technology Award

The McClintock Award for Drama Conor Cox

Tarika Kinney Joshua Lunn Cassie Mallon

The Reverend David Neilands 'One More Step' Award

Niamh White

The Dr and Mrs Smiley Awards Giselle Coulter

Mia Jackson

Former Pupils' Awards Max Kennedy

Cassie Mallon

Ian Ross Scholarship for Science

Principal's Awards

Abbie Fitzsimmons Finn Hofman Lauren McKeown-Gilmore Oluchi Okoli

Head Girl Grace Copty, Head Boy Hector King, Deputy Head Girls Kate Harvey, Oluchi Okoli, Deputy Head Boys John Gibbons, Luke Patterson Senior Prefects Ushnik Banerjee, Ewan Briggs, Lucia Corrigan, Rachel Green, Ben Heatherley, Finn Hofman, Mia Jackson, Max Kennedy, Jess Kernohan, Tarika Kinney, Cassie Mallon, Lauren McKeown-Gilmore, Archie Moore, Lara Robb, Lewis Robinson, Luc Tedford, Callum Tougher, Freya Watson