Board of Governors


The Board of Governors sets the College’s strategic direction. Its members work closely with the Principal and staff to ensure objectives and standards are achieved, whilst ensuring that resources are allocated and used in the best way possible. It provides both challenge and support to the Principal, who is responsible for the day to day management of the school.

The Board has seven committees which meet throughout the year to consider particular areas of College life and make recommendations to inform the Board’s decisions. The Committees are: Audit and Risk, Education and Extra-Curricular, Finance & Facilities Committee, Fundraising and Alumni Relations, Preparatory Committee, Chaplaincy Committee and Human Resources and Salaries. Members of the Board usually serve on at least one committee, and officers are also regular attenders across the range of meetings.

Categories of Governor

Member Type Appointment Process
Trustee Governor Appointed by the Conference of the Methodist Church
DE Governor Appointed by the Department of Education
Parent Governor Elected by the Parents of Pupils
Teacher Governor Elected by Staff

Trustee GovernorsTrustee GovernorsTrustee Governors

Board Members 2019-2020

Name Member Type Role

Revd John Alderdice

Trustee Governor


Mr Eric Bell

Trustee Governor

Treasurer, Convenor of Finance & Facilities Committee

Revd David Campton

Trustee Governor

Convenor of Chaplaincy Committee

Dr David Gallagher

Trustee Governor


Dr Gillian Luney

Trustee Governor


Mr Mark McElhinney

Trustee Governor

Convenor of Audit & Risk Committee

Mrs Helen McHugh

Trustee Governor

Designated Governor for Child Protection. 

Revd Dr Heather Morris

Trustee Governor

Secretary of the Methodist Conference

Revd Peter Murray

Trustee Governor


Mr Alan Strong

Trustee Governor

Convenor of Education & Extra-Curricular Committee

Revd Dr Janet Unsworth

Trustee Governor


Ms Verena Wallace

Trustee Governor


Revd Sam McGuffin

Trustee Governor


Mrs Patricia Bret

DE Governor  

Dr Michael Harriott

DE Governor  

Mr Timothy Haslett

DE Governor  

Mrs Edith Shaw

DE Governor Lay Secretary

Mr Michael Humphreys

Parent Governor Convenor of HR and Salaries Committee

Mrs Carole Ryden

Parent Governor  

Mr Geoff Clarke

Parent Governor  
Miss Olivia Moore Teacher Governor  

How to Contact

The first port of call for parents and pupils will usually be to the appropriate member of the College staff.  The Board of Governors  may be contacted via email at or by telephone 028 90205202 or in writing via the Principal's Office.

The College's  procedure for dealing with a parental concern may be found here.